Subaru BRZ Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new driver and my first car was the BRZ. I had not known about the break in period and I drove the car fairly hard. Drifting every once in a while and bringing it over 4k RPM all the time. I probably red lined a couple times. I currently have 2,700 miles on the car and no problems. Could I have caused any damage either in the short term or damage that will haunt me later in the cars life? And if so then what?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
483 Posts
Nothing can be done now, if the engine was damaged it can't be fixed now.

The only damage would be excessive ring wear which shows up later in the engine's life.

However, these are very robust engines designed to run up to 7,500 rpm repeatedly and at full throttle once they are properly run in. Whether your engine has overheated the rings or not depends on for how long on each occasion you exceeded 4,000 rpm or redlined the engine or applied full throttle. Likely you have done no damage to your engine or any damage will only show up at high mileage as excessive oil consumption. There's no useful way to tell that now.

Also, as the mileage accumulates the break in progresses. So, if your aggressive driving mainly occurred after say 500 miles then likely very little untoward wear occurred, maybe none.

As I say, it is now too late to worry about this. If you are worried then a compression test, wet and dry, might show the slight drop in compression pressure resulting from premature ring wear but I doubt very much that anything would show up yet. Besides, don't ask your dealer to do that or they may try to void your warranty! Just drive it and forget about it.