Subaru BRZ Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wondering if I brought the wrong tires for my brz.

Ordered some Bridgestone Potenza s04 pole position tires from tirerack.com.
Size: 225/40/18xl.

Im kind of new to modifying. I did some research on these tires from tirerack, and the reviews were
great. The only problem is, I went to a local tire shop to get some pricing information on installtion, and one of the
installer there told me, "why in the world did you buy these tires for your car?" He said, these tires are
very hard and stiff, it will make my car ride worse and get a lot of oversteer.

The tires is on the way, but now im kind of hesitant to put them on.
have anyone had any experience with these tires on small coupe cars? what you guys think?

by the way,, got new wheels along with the tires, 18" enkie raijin gunmetal.
The car so far is all bone stock. just wanna add some wheels and tires for now.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I'm no tire expert, but I see no problem with those. Stiff sidewalls are a good thing, it helps the suspension do its job. As long as you put them on all four corners, the balance of the car should not be noticeably altered...it may behave differently at the limits (more, or less, progressive when breaking loose), but it shouldn't increase oversteer.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no tire expert, but I see no problem with those. Stiff sidewalls are a good thing, it helps the suspension do its job. As long as you put them on all four corners, the balance of the car should not be noticeably altered...it may behave differently at the limits (more, or less, progressive when breaking loose), but it shouldn't increase oversteer.

Did some further researched and don't see nothing wrong.
The tires finally came. Gonna put them on soon and will post pics.

·
Registered
483 Posts
Wondering if I brought the wrong tires for my brz.